London 2012 -Triathlete Thorrington ready to work for Jenkins

British triathlete Abbie Thorrington is willing to sacrifice her own dreams of medalling at London 2012 to help world champion Helen Jenkins bring home that elusive gold medal.

Helen Jenkins Triathlon champion - 0

Team GB have failed to attain a top three berth since the sport made its debut at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, but the Ipswich athlete, currently training in Spain, is aiming to be part of the three-women team in Hyde Park this summer to change that statistic.

Britain’s Helen Jenkins won the Olympic test event in Hyde Park last year and was crowned overall world champion, while the Brownlee brothers impressively came first, Alistair, and second, Jonathan, in the same event – leaving Thorrington confident of Games success.

“I rate our chances of medalling as 99.99 percent this summer. Something would have to go horrendously for us not to,” said Thorrington.

“I have had to work very hard and I am very motivated to make the team. I wouldn’t be doing all this work and all this travel if I didn’t want to help us win a medal.

“But I have got to be realistic about my own chances of getting a medal, and Rio 2016 is my long term goal.”

This is because the British Triathlon Federation have devised a similar plan that facilitated Mark Cavendish’s world road race victory last September.

The British team controlled the race in Copenhagen, avoiding tactical struggles and delivering the Isle of Man cyclist to the finish in ideal fashion.

Jenkins, who finished 21st at the 2008 Beijing Games, will be shielded from the complications that the race could throw up, as Thorrington puts pedal to the metal in a bid to stretch the field for the perfect ending.

“I hope I will be able to help Helen win a medal. We are working on a number of plans and, if I make the team, I will absolutely kill myself in the cycling to give Helen the best chance of winning,” added the 24-year-old.

“There will be fast racing in packs and we will keep away from the Australian runners. It will be like Mark Cavendish where it is not just down to him, but the team. We will build the team around her.

“She is down to earth like Cavendish, and so will be saying thanks to us and recognising our efforts afterwards.

“I really want to contribute to that and I hope to have an extremely positive Olympic experience and remember it for the rest of my life.

“The home crowd will be beneficial to us and I hope the crowds turn out in Hyde Park – the more the merrier.”

But first Thorrington needs to collect enough points from competing around the world to earn a place in the squad.

Currently on a three-week intensive conditioning programme in Torromelous – in the Costa del Sol region of southern Spain – she is stepping up on her 30-hour training week in 22 degree temperatures and will travel to South Africa this month in search of ‘chase points’ for her Olympic qualification aspirations.

Thorrington won’t notice any improvements in her speed until a month or so has elapsed after she returns home to Ipswich, where she still lives and trains in addition to her Loughborough University base camp.

But she hopes all the blisters and tears of pain will end up being worthwhile.

“First of all I just want to get there, and it would be absolutely massive for me to make our home Olympics,” she said.

“But you never know. As for any athlete, you may get injured or become ill. So I am keeping an open mind.

“Training is intense but going in the right direction and I am making the right progression. I am out here for three weeks and it is the biggest block of training I have had in my life.

“I love triathlon and definitely see it as my future. You never got bored doing it. It is healthy and always out in the open.

“But I need to work a lot more on my running, but I can’t do that all the time because I will get injured. You have to juggle it with your strongest elements.”

Sportsbeat / Eurosport

About swimbikerun1
Devoted Father, Husband and Employee.Endurance sports fanatic (running,cycling,swimming).Triathlon athlete and coach.If only days had more than 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

